Interviu cu o autoare: Liz Braswell

Dupa cum v-am promis urmeaza inca un interviu, de data aceasta cu o autoare. Elizabeth Braswell a fost foarte draguta si a acceptat sa raspunda la cateva intrebari. Thank you very much!

ELIZABETH J. BRASWELL este o autoare americană  deurban fantasy. S-a născut la Birmingham (Marea Britanie) şi a studiat la Brown University (SUA). Meseria ei de bază este ingineria, dar are şi o licenţă în egiptologie. O perioadă a lucrat ca inginer, apoi producător de jocuri video, după care s-a dedicat în întregime scrisului. Îşi semnează cărţile cu diverse pseudonime – Liz Braswell, Celia Thomson, J.B. Stephens, Tracy Lynn, E.J. Braswell.  Volumele ei s-au bucurat de un deosebit succes în rândul tinerilor cititori. Până în prezent a publicat seriile Cele nouă vieţi ale lui Chloe King (acum şi un serial produs de ABC Family) şi The Big Empty, romanele Snow şi  Rx,  precum şi povestiri horror în revista Amazing Stories. Locuieşte la New York, este căsătorită şi are un copil.

 Mai multe informatii despre autoare puteri gasi pe urmatorul site:                                                                Liz Braswell

NH: First of all, thank you very much for granting me this interview. I was wondering whether you would like to tell us something about yourself.

LB: I was born in England, raised in a small town in New England, and majored in Egyptology.  I produced video games for a decade (some were for Star Trek).  I have two kids, a frog, some Sea Monkeys and a husband who is a publisher—though not my publisher.  We all live in Brooklyn, NYC, when we are not in Vermont, New England.  I love gardening on my roof deck, make jewelry, and drink wayyyy too much coffee.  Right now I am listening to ‘Swedes Do it Better’ on my Ipod.

NH: What inspired you to write “The Nine Lives of Chloe King”?

LB: Several different things…  I majored in Egyptology, as I said, so I always wanted to write something about Egyptian mythology.  Chloe was inspired by a late-night run I took in the city, when I thought to myself: wouldn’t it be great if I had powers so I could run anywhere I wanted to, any time, and not be afraid of anyone attacking me…? 

NH: What kind of message do you try to send with your novels?

LB: With Chloe, it is that girls are powerful.  Women are powerful.  I think more girls, especially teenage girls, need to know that.

NH: Which was the hardest character to write? How about the easiest?

LB: Chloe’s mother.  My parents are still married; my experience with single motherhood is limited to friends.  It has to be a fun story, but I wanted her to be really real, and her relationship with Chloe to be real, not just like another TV show where the teens go wherever they want whenever they want and there never seem to be any parents.

NH: I believe all readers imagine what would happen if they were granted a few hours with a character of their choosing. If you were to spend some time with your characters where would you go?

LB: To the fourth book I desperately want to write!!!  There’s a secret Mai town in the middle of the desert in western America…did you know that?  I would like to roadtrip there with them.   And sit next to Kim.

NH: The Stolen has just been released in Romania. For those who have not read it yet, what can you share about it? What about the last book in the series?

LB: I hope the last book hasn’t been written yet!  What I would tell them would depend on whether or not they had seen the TV show.  :)  I would say it takes the pace of the story up a bit, and the best part is getting to learn more about the Order of the Tenth Blade. 

NH: Do you have a favorite author?

LB: Not just one.  Lloyd Alexander, Cormac McCarthy, Faulkner, Gogol, Douglas Adams…

NH: You have a time capsule and the possibility to preserve three books for the people of the future. What books would you choose?

LB: Only three?  One for each age, I guess: The Lorax by Dr. Seuss, Holes by Louis Sachar, and Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.

NH: Do you have any projects in the making?

LB: Yes…another action adventure series involving a kick-ass girl—and there might be aliens.

NH: And last, do you have any words for your fans in Romania?

LB: Multumesc!!!  I think my fans in Romania rock the most—they clamored the loudest and so Chloe was first translated into Romanian!  Before French and Spanish!!   Some day I would like to visit—part of my family is from there.  Also, maybe sorry for all the vampire jokes.  We Americans just love our vampires.

It must be getting pretty old now, right?


11 thoughts on “Interviu cu o autoare: Liz Braswell

  1. In ultima vreme tot aud de legatura autorilor straini cu tara noastra😀 Si ma bucura acest lucru. Sper sa pot citi curand aceasta serie. Am vazut serialul si m-a facut curioasa😀 Sunt curioasa ce elemente de egiptologie au fost presarate in carte ^^

Lasă un răspuns

