Interviu cu o autoare: Jennifer Bosworth

Vine la rand inca un interviu cu o autoare. De data aceasta cea care mi-a dat un interviu a fost Jennifer Bosworth, autoarea romanului Struck pe care l-am prezentat AICI. Thank you very much for this interview!

Jennifer Bosworth„Jennifer Bosworth lives in Los Angeles, California, where lightning hardly ever strikes, but when it does she takes cover. She is the writer half of a writer/director team with her husband, Ryan Bosworth. Learn more about STRUCK and view the book trailer at http://www.jenniferbosworth.com.”

NH: First of all, thank you very much for granting me this interview. I was wondering whether you would like to tell us something about yourself.

JB: Thanks for having me on your blog! A few interesting things about me . . . I grew up in the desert in Eastern Utah, in a coal-mining town. As a kid, my favorite thing to do was get lost in the barren hills that surrounded the town and wander and tell myself stories. Creative kids seem to either thrive or be diminished by small towns, but I found ways to keep myself entertained. My dad owned a video store, so I watched every horror movie I could get my hands on. I still love horror movies. In October, I watch a horror movie every day in honor of Halloween. It’s a goal of mine to have a horror movie produced someday.

NH: In “Struck” you chose a unique theme and character. What inspired you to write this novel?

JB: I grew up in an extremely religious community, and as a kid I didn’t feel like I was encouraged to think for myself. It seemed like adults were always telling me what I believed as opposed to asking me to decide for myself. Part of the reason I created my character, Mia Price, is because I love the idea of pitting a cynical teenager who doesn’t believe in much of anything against two doomsday cults, both of who are trying to force their beliefs on her.

NH:Are you trying to send a certain message with your novels? If, yes what message would that be?

JB:Don’t ever let anyone else do your thinking for you, even if you’re still in your teens. Parents, politicians, religious leaders, teachers . . . they’re all just people, and they’re fallible. They may not have all the answers you need. You have to find those for yourself.

NH: Which was the hardest character to write? How about the easiest?

JB: The hardest character for me to write was Parker, Mia’s little brother, and I’ve decided this is because he’s so incredibly “good.” At least he always has the greater good in mind. I find it much more fun to write villains and characters who make terrible decisions, which made Prophet and Katrina, Mia’s main antagonists, the easiest and most fun for me to write.

NH: I believe all readers and perhaps the writers as well imagine what would happen if they were granted a few hours with a character of their choosing. If you were to spend some time with your characters where would you go and what would you do?

JB: My husband will feel threatened if I say Jeremy, so I’ll go with Katrina. She’s a girl who knows where to find a good party, and who likes to dance the night away. I’d like to tag along.

My second choice is Prophet, because I like a good argument, and I love weird people. Prophet and I would have epic arguments while walking on the beach . . . until he brainwashed me, that is.

NH: Many viewers said the book trailer looks a lot like a movie trailer. Would you like to see your story on screen one day?

JB: That would be a dream come true! STRUCK was meant to be a movie. I think in cinematic terms, and I use my screenwriting skills as much in in novel writing as I do in screenwriting, so much of what I write has the feel of something that could transition easily into cinematic terms.

NH: Do you have a favorite author?

JB: My all time favorite is Stephen King, but a more recent favorite is Gillian Flynn, who writes extremely dark, literary mysteries. She’s been the biggest influence on my writing in the last ten years.

NH: You have a time capsule and the possibility to preserve three books for the people of the future. What books would you choose?

JB: Oh, wow. This is a tough one. I’m going to have to go with the books that have moved me the most:

Room, by Emma Donahue

Little Brother, by Cory Doctorow

The Unbearable Lightness of Being, by Milan Kundera

NH: You are able to go back in time and take part in one particular historical event. What would that be?

JB: Woodstock!! I’m a hippie at heart, and I live for live music.

NH: Do you have any projects in the making?

JB: More than I can keep track of! A couple of novels are competing for my attention, a psychological YA horror, and a post-apocalyptic, fantasy western. I’m also working on several horror screenplays, which my husband and I hope to produce.

NH: And last, do you have any words for your fans in Romania?

JB: It’s been a lifelong dream of mine to visit Romania, so maybe I’ll be signing at a bookstore near you soon! Let’s start a publishing campaign to get STRUCK translated into Romanian!

Ce ziceti? Ati vrea sa apara Struck si la noi in tara?

Va las mai jos si trailerul cartii care este absolut superb!


6 thoughts on “Interviu cu o autoare: Jennifer Bosworth

  1. Pana sa inru pe blogul tau, nu mai vazusem cartea, nici de autoare nu stiam. Initial, am sarit cu vederea peste articolul static de pe prima pagina a blogului, dar din plictiseala, am examinat coperta, am vizionat trailer-ul si sunt cam asa: „VREAU!VREAU!VREAU!”. Mi se pare ca autoarea e super😀

  2. Really nice interview! I also thought that the trailer looked like a movie! Maybe it will become a movie in the future! It would be really awesome ~~
    I’m still amazed that more and more authors want to come to Romania! *proud :’)*
    I find the author to be really sweet and I hope I can read her book soon!

Lasă un răspuns

