Interviu cu un autor: Jaz Primo

Iata inca un interviu. De data aceasta cel care mi l-a oferit a fost Jaz Primo. Thank you very much!

Jaz Primo

1. First of all, thank you very much for granting me this interview. I was wondering whether you would like to tell us something about yourself.

Thank you so very much for interviewing me.  I am very honored and humbled that you asked.  I generally consider myself to be a somewhat eccentric person who has what I like to think of as a playful sense of humor, which includes the frequent use of puns.  I love learning history just as much as I enjoy reading paranormal and fantasy literature, and I’m a film fanatic. Oh, and my favorite foods are Coca-Cola, salty popcorn, and anything that’s chocolate!  *grinning*

2. Can you tell us what inspired you to write “Sunrise at Sunset?”

Sunrise at Sunset was inspired by the central vision of a powerful vampire heroine named Katrina who fell in love with a mere human under the most unusual circumstances.  Katrina’s spontaneous existence in my mind was so vivid and intense that she demanded that the complicated and highly unconventional love story between her and Caleb be told.

3. Which was the hardest character to write? How about the easiest?

The hardest character to write has been the vampire Alton Rutherford.  Alton has such a mysterious background and a complex personal history and agenda that it’s sometimes hard to take him all into my head and sort out all of the details, as well as his multiple layers of motivations.  The easiest character to write has been the central human Caleb Taylor.  Caleb is a sincere and honorable character, and he is wholly and completely dedicated in his love for Katrina and the friends who he holds near and dear to his heart.

4. I believe all readers and perhaps the writers as well imagine what would happen if they were granted a few hours with a character of their choosing. If you were to spend some time with your characters where would you go and what would you do?

I would love to spend time with my central vampire, Katrina Rawlings.  I would go to the United Kingdom and Europe to spend quality time touring historic sites (at night, of course).

5. How do you feel about the covers chosen for the series? Would you change anything about them?

I do love the covers in my Sunset Vampire Series!  But if there was anything that I would change, it would be to have more daring or striking poses for the characters on the cover of A Bloody London Sunset.

6. Do you have a favorite author?

My favorite author is a fantasy author named L.E. Modesitt, Jr.  He is one of the most influential authors in my writing career, and I thoroughly enjoying escaping into his many wondrous novels and, of course, his award-winning Recluse series.

7. You have a time capsule and the possibility to preserve three books for the people of the future. What books would you choose?

The three books that I would preserve as a matter of overall future cultural importance are: (1) The Complete Works of William Shakespeare [It’s one big book, after all! *wink*], (2) Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, and (3) The Three Musketeers by Alexandre Dumas.  Odds-bodkins, that was awfully tough!

8. You are able to go back in time and take part in one particular historical event. What would that be and how would you change it?

This is an excellent question, and as a college history professor, I genuinely appreciate you asking it!  There are actually two key events that I would have liked to have participated in.  First and foremost, I would like to have traveled back in time to April 14, 1865 to prevent Confederate sympathizer John Wilkes Booth from assassinating President Abraham Lincoln at Ford Theater.  I believe that I could have thwarted Booth if I had been able to be back stage where he clandestinely entered the theater.  In my opinion, the premature death of President Lincoln forestalled the progressive reintegration of African Americans into the mainstream fabric of American society and participatory citizenship.  I believe that the Civil Rights Movement of the 1960s might have occurred a full generation earlier had Lincoln lived.

The other historical event that I would have liked would have been to have helped prevent Joseph Stalin from rising to power in Russia following the death of Vladimir Lenin in the 1920s. This might have allowed sane individuals to remain in power and possibly thwarted Nazi Germany’s establishment of a non-aggression pact with Russia in the 1930s as Adolf Hitler concentrated on the takeover of most of Europe.  Ultimately, despite a potentially inevitable showdown against Germany with the U.S. as its ally, Russia might have exited World War II in a peaceable fashion, thereby precluding its Iron Curtain from falling across Eastern Europe and might have saved millions of people from being executed or sent to correctional labor camps under a Soviet regime.

9. Do you have any projects in the making?

Oh, yes!  I’m currently working on a young adult paranormal romance novel titled Gwen Reaper that is set in a small town in South Dakota, USA.  It is my first attempt at a strictly young adult novel, but I’m very hopeful and excited to present it to readers.

There are also a number of projects that I am in the process of refining the storyline and backgrounds on for the upcoming year, including a historically-based zombie novel, a new urban fantasy series set in present day, and a fourth novel in my Sunset Vampire Series.

10.  And last, do you have any words for your fans in Romania?

Definitely!  I would like to offer my heartfelt thanks and appreciation to all of my Romanian fans!  I am humbled by your interest in my novels and in me as an author, and I hope that you continue to enjoy the other books that are on the horizon for release.  Please drop by my website at http://jazprimo.com and sign up to receive my occasional newsletters so that I can stay in touch with each of you.  Best wishes to each of you!

 

 


2 thoughts on “Interviu cu un autor: Jaz Primo

  1. :)) m-as gandi totusi de doua ori inainte de a petrece timpul cu katrina, daca o supar ma papa asa ca nu-i de bine🙂 as prefera un personaj putin mai domestic sau ma rog sa au si eu aceleasi calitati la o astfel de intalnire de gradul 0

Lasă un răspuns

