Interviu cu un autor: Dan Haring

Va prezint inca un interviu, de data aceasta cu autorul romanului Oldsoul, care mie mi s-a parut ca are o premiza foarte interesanta. Thank you very much for the interview! Plus, ca autorul a lucrat la filmul Tangled la animatie! Cat de tare poate sa fie acest lucru!

Dan Haring

Dan Haring has been drawing and writing for most of his life. He earned his degree in animation from BYU and has worked on such films as The Incredible Hulk and Disney’s Tangled. He lives in Southern California with his wife and children. ( source goodreads.com )
1. First of all, thank you very much for granting me this interview. I
was wondering whether you would like to tell us something about
yourself.

First off, thank you so much for this opportunity! I really appreciate
being able to do this interview. My day job is in animation, which
I’ve been doing for the past five years. (I worked on Tangled, among
other movies) Writing is a more recent pursuit, but I love it.

2. Can you tell us what inspired you to write “Oldsoul”?

It started out as one night I had an idea for a scene, and I sat down
and wrote it down. I really enjoyed it, and liked what I had written
and wanted to continue the story. At the same time, I’ve always liked
the term “old soul”, meaning someone who is wise beyond their years. I
thought that someone who had a bunch of dead people’s spirits living
inside him might have reason to be considered an old soul. It was
something that I didn’t think had been done before, so I incorporated
that idea into that chapter I’d written, and it just kind of went from
there.

3. What can you share about your novel?

When I wrote it, I kind of had it in mind that I was writing the
equivalent of an action movie. I wanted a lot of fun, exciting stuff
to happen, right from the start. I know there are some parts where it
slows down, but hopefully overall it’s a fun ride for people.

4. I believe all readers and perhaps the writers as well imagine what
would happen if they were granted a few hours with a character of
their choosing. If you were to spend some time with your characters
where would you go and what would you do?

Ooh, good question!  I don’t even know. I think Jason is a pretty cool
guy, and we’d probably get along. Maybe go to a comic book shop or a
baseball game. I’ll have to think about that more.

5. Do you have a favorite author?

I have multiple ones. But if I was forced to give an answer I’d
say…Jack Kerouac. Or J.R.R. Tolkien. Or both! I know that’s
cheating, but they’re probably tied since they both have such a strong
hold on different parts of my heart and mind.

6.  You have a time capsule and the possibility to preserve three
books for the people of the future. What books would you choose?

Wow, that’s another good one. Man…Okay, I’m going to stick with
fiction. My two favorite books are On the Road by Jack Kerouac and The
Lord of the Rings. So probably them. And for the other I should
probably choose something really important like Don Quixote or War and
Peace. But if the people of the future don’t have anything to read,
then they should get to experience Harry Potter.

7. You are able to go back in time and take part in one particular
historical event. What would that be and how would you change it?

I would go back and give Bob Kane and Bill Finger high-fives for
creating Batman, who is the coolest superhero ever, and tell them to
not change a thing!

8. You have a mirror that shows you a person of your choosing from the
past and/or present. That person can be anyone: a president, a king, a
queen, a writer etc. You can ask him or her only one question. Who
would it be and what would you ask that person?

Man, you’re really making me think! And I already used Batman in the
last question, so… I’m going to go with Jesus Christ. And I wouldn’t
ask Him anything, I would just thank Him.

9. Scientists have managed to create a machine that allows you to jump
to the future. What year would you like to discover?

Hmmm. I’m torn. I would either go thousands of years into the future
to see what it’s like, or I would just go far enough to find out when
I’m going to die, so I would know how much time I have left. Hopefully
it would be a long time!

10.  Would you like to add anything else?

Thank you again for the interview. I really enjoyed it and you had
awesome questions! I hope Oldsoul will make it Romania soon.
Mulţumesc!

 


3 thoughts on “Interviu cu un autor: Dan Haring

Lasă un răspuns

