Interviu cu o autoare: Laurisa White Reyes

Va prezentam acum cateva zile romanul „The Rock of Ivanore.” Autoarea lui a acceptat sa imi dea un interviu si sa impartaseasca o serie de lucruri despre romanul ei si momentul in care s-a apucat sa il scrie. Thank you for the interview!

Laurisa White Reyes1. First of all, thank you very much for granting me this interview. I was wondering whether you would like to tell us something about yourself.

I am a full-time mother of five children by day, and a writer by night.

2. Can you tell us what inspired you to write “The Rock Of Ivanore”

I have always read to my children from books at bed time. One night many years ago my son asked me to make up a story instead.  Every night for several weeks I would ask him what he wanted to hear. Usually it was dragons or magic or sword fighting. Eventually I wrote the stories down and they became the inspiration for The Rock of Ivanore.

3. What can you share about your novel?

The Rock of Ivanore is the story of a boy who is an enchanter’s apprentice, but he considers himself a failure at magic. When he’s given a chance to prove himself by joining the annual quest, he must dig deep within himself to find the confidence and abilities he needs to succeed. This book is the first in a series called The Celestine Chronicles. The next book, The Last Enchanter, comes out next year.

4. I believe all readers and perhaps the writers as well imagine what would happen if they were granted a few hours with a character of their choosing. If you were to spend some time with your characters where would you go and what would you do?

I asked my daughter this question and we both agreed that we would like to take a walk through the woods with Bryn, because even though technically he is a big, scary monster, he sees the world through the eyes of a child – innocent and full of wonder. It would be nice to see the world that way.

5. Do you have a favorite author?

I have many favorite authors actually, and they change from time to time. At the moment, my favorite author is Kate Mosse (The Labyrinth & Sepulchre).  I think, though, that I prefer to have favorite books rather than authors, because there are just so many good ones out there.

6. You have a time capsule and the possibility to preserve three books for the people of the future. What books would you choose?

The Bible, of course.  And maybe A Brief History of Time by Stephen Hawking. That covers religion and science. As for the third book, possibly Common Sense by Thomas Paine, which covers the importance of political freedom.  Having said that, what if the three books I saved had to be fiction? Then I would definitely preserve Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell, Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte, and Roots by Alex Haley.

7. You are able to go back in time and take part in one particular historical event. What would that be and how would you change it?

I happen to be a history buff, my father is a self-taught historian. My favorite era to study is the first three centuries of Christendom, between the death of Jesus Christ and the conversion of Emperor Constantine. I am fascinated with the early development of the Church and the many different forms of religion that existed at that time. To me, it is sad that so many of the early documents were destroyed or lost. If I could change anything, I would want somehow to preserve all those early texts so that we could study them today. I’ve considered writing an alternative history novel about that very topic, but haven’t gotten around to it yet.

8. You have a mirror that shows you a person of your choosing from the past and/or present. That person can be anyone: a president, a king, a queen, a writer etc. You can ask him or her only one question. Who would it be and what would you ask that person?

My great grandfather took his own life in 1939. It drastically changed the course of his daughter’s life, my grandmother. I am working on a novel about that. I wish so much I could just ask him why he did it. No one ever knew.

9. Scientists have managed to create a machine that allows you to jump to the future. What year would you like to discover?

Since I am currently writing a science fiction novel, I would love to see the year when near light speed travel becomes possible, and man can travel great distances and visit other parts of the universe.

10. Would you like to add anything else?

Thank you so much for having me as a guest. I am so honored to have my book discussed in Romania. It is very exciting.


2 thoughts on “Interviu cu o autoare: Laurisa White Reyes

  1. wow. mama a cinci copii, si scriitoare e geniala, simpatica..cred ca ai avut dreptate autorii acestia sunt atat de deosebiti, si modesti..totusi are si o istorie interesanta in spate,,imi place tare mult de ea

Lasă un răspuns

