Interviu cu o autoare: Janet Lee Carey

A venit vremea pentru un nou interviu. De data aceasta cea care mi-a răspuns la întrebări a fost Janet Lee Carey, autoarea romanului Dragonswood care are o copertă absolut superbă si o descriere genială. Thank you for the interview!

~~~***~~~***~~~***~~~***~~~

DragonswoodWilde Island is not at peace. The kingdom mourns the dead Pendragon king and awaits the return of his heir; the uneasy pact between dragons, fairies, and humans is strained; and the regent is funding a bloodthirsty witch hunt, hoping to rid the island of half-fey maidens.

Tess, daughter of a blacksmith, has visions of the future, but she still doesn’t expect to be accused of witchcraft, forced to flee with her two best friends, or offered shelter by the handsome and enigmatic Garth Huntsman, a warden for Dragonswood. But Garth is the younger prince in disguise and Tess soon learns that her true father was fey, making them the center of an exciting, romantic adventure, and an ancient prophecy that will bring about peace between all three races – dragon, human, and fairy.

~~~***~~~***~~~***~~~***~~~

Janet Lee CareyJanet Lee Carey is the award-winning author of eight Children’s and YA novels. Her YA fantasy is critically acclaimed: „Verdict: This is quite simply fantasy at its best–original, beautiful, amazing, and deeply moving.” School Library Journal starred review. Janet links each new book with a charitable organization empowering readers to make a difference in the world. She tours in US and abroad presenting at schools, children’s book festivals, and conferences.

1. First of all, thank you very much for granting me this interview. I was wondering whether you would like to tell us something about yourself.

I spend most of everyday peering at a screen and writing. That means the world is whizzing by, and I’m deep inside whatever story I’m creating, following the characters through their long, complex journeys. I also have a very full family life. When I’m not writing or hanging out with my family, you can sometimes find me riding around on my son’s razor, haunting bookstores to fill my already bulging bookshelves, or paddling our canoe.

2. Can you tell us what inspired you to write “Dragonswood?”

I was intrigued by the early witch hunts in medieval times and wanted to tell a story of a girl who is falsely accused of witchcraft. Tess has the power of fire-sight (seeing visions in the fire) but powers of any sort were often seen as “gifts from the devil.” That’s certainly what happens to Tess.

Lines From Dragonswood:
The witch hunter scanned the crowd “Who is the witch?” she asked. “Could she be your neighbor, the girl at the well? A friend who has herb skills? Does she look innocent and yet she harbors secret powers?”

Sweat slicked my back. Only Grandfather knew I had the fire-sight, and he’d warned me to keep the power secret. The visions came when I was alone, so I’d managed to keep it to myself—until the day we buried my baby brother, Adam. (pg. 23)

3. What can you share about your novel?

I’ll share a short description, some lines from a review, then I’ll pop in the book trailer.

~In a dark time when girls with powers are called witches, Tess escapes the witch hunter and hides with a mysterious huntsman until magical voices draw her deeper into Dragonswood where she learns the secret of her birth. Caught between love and loyalty, Tess chooses the hardest path of all – her own.

 “A fairy tale for those who have given up on believing in them, but still yearn for happily ever after.”

                        –Kirkus starred review

4. Do you have a favorite author?

I love so many authors, but I usually go back to Ursula K. Le Guin. I’ve read all of her Earthsea books, her newer YA fantasies, and her science fiction for adults. Her characters are vivid and her writing is exquisite.

5. Would you like to add anything else?

I link each new book with a charity as a part of my Author Outreach. Each of us can do our small part for our Earth and our World Family by contributing to any charity that moves us in a global direction. Since Dragonswood is a refuge the Pendragon family set aside to protect the endangered dragons and fairy folk, I looked for a wildlife charity to celebrate the Dragonswood book launch. Our family joined Defenders of Wildlife (http://www.defenders.org/index_v2.html) we adopted an arctic fox and snowy owl. You can swing by the “giving back” page on my website (http://www.janetleecarey.com) to learn more about the charity and the ways you, as a reader, can support endangered wildlife.


3 thoughts on “Interviu cu o autoare: Janet Lee Carey

  1. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyhow, amazing blog!

  2. Cartea are o coperta superba,povestea pare una foarte interesanta, dar ma cam sperie melodia de pe fundalul videoclipului,in rest totul e ok…e dragut dragonul, dar mie tot imi vine in minte Safira de la Eragon, e prima carte cu dragoni pe care am citit-o , felicitari pentru interviu.Poate o vor traduce si in Romania..am observat foarte multe carti interesante in strainatate, ma intreb daca carti romanesti au fost traduse dincolo, aici nu ma refer la Eminescu sau autori consacrati, ci la cei mai noi..chiar asa ai vreo idee legata de asta?

Lasă un răspuns

