Interviu cu o autoare: A.G. Howard

Desi nu am mai citit de mult timp „Alice in tara minunilor”, intotdeauna mi-au placut adaptarile pe aceasta tema. Ca urmare, cartea Anitei Howard, „Splintered” m-a captivat tocmai din acest motiv si am vrut sa aflu mai multe. Un interviu mi s-a parut metoda potrivita pentru ca va pot impartasi astfel si voua ce am aflat. Thank you for the interview, Anita!

~~~***~~~***~~~***~~~

SplinteredThis stunning debut captures the grotesque madness of a mystical under-land, as well as a girl’s pangs of first love and independence. Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.

When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family. She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own.

~~~***~~~***~~~***~~~

1. First of all, thank you very much for granting me this interview. I was wondering whether you would like to tell us something about yourself.

Thank you for inviting me to do the interview! Let’s see, a little about me. For hobbies, I like rollerblading, sewing, gardening, baking and decorating cakes and cookies, checking out old abandoned buildings, and visiting decaying graveyards. But reading and writing trump them all. I write full time from home along with being a wife, mom, and pet owner.

2. Can you tell us what inspired you to write “Splintered?”

I’ve always been a huge fan of Carroll’s masterpieces, but the spark actually lit back in in April, 2010, when I first saw the Tim Burton & Disney Alice adaptation. I’m a very visual person, and the Burton cinematography was so vivid, techno-colored, and evocative that I didn’t want the movie to ever end. So I came up with my own settings in my mind, and played out Wonderland continuations and scenarios. The idea became too big to contain in my head and I needed to get it out on paper. My goal was to make a follow-up story about a different Wonderland where things were darker and funkier. I also wanted my version to be contemporary, because I’d never seen that done. Once I saw the book Alice I Have Been (a historical fiction account of Alice Liddell, the real-life girl who inspired Carroll to write his story), everything clicked into place: I could have my contemporary heroine be a descendant of Alice Liddell! When that idea fell into my lap, I was ready to dive in.

3. What can you share about your novel?

Well, I can tell you it’s not the first book I’ve ever written. Though it is the first young adult novel, and the first book I’ve ever had published. I started writing SPLINTERED in April, 2010 and finished in October, 2010.  After that, I edited/revised/rewrote about five times before snagging an agent. The book originally started as 120K. Once I finally cut it down to 108K, I snagged my agent Jenny Bent. Then under her advisement, I cut the beginning down once more before we finally found a home with Amulet.

4. I believe all readers and perhaps writers as well imagine what would happen if they were granted a few hours with a character of their choosing. If you were to spend some time with your characters where would you go and what would you do?

I would choose to hang out with the two guys. I’d go to Wonderland and fly with Morpheus, though I’d miss out on all of the amazing sights because I’d have to keep my eyes closed ( I’m terrified of heights), and then I’d ride with Jeb on his motorcycle along some country roads. I’d keep my eyes open for that one. ^.^

5. Do you have a favorite author?

I can’t stop at just one, so here are my top six: Neil Gaiman, Alice Hoffman, Charlotte Bronte, Melissa Marr, Christina Rossetti, and of course Lewis Carroll.

6. You have a time capsule and the possibility to preserve three books for the people of the future. What books would you choose?

The Bible, To Kill a Mockingbird, Grimms Fairy Tales (one for the soul, one for the mind, one for the imagination).

7. You are able to go back in time and take part in one particular historical event. What would that be and how would you change it?

If I ever went back in time, I’d hesitate to change anything. Yes, there are many horrible events that have taken place, from wars to the Holocaust to 9-11, and no doubt more are coming. But what if by changing one of them in the past, I only caused one of the others to be even worse because something we learned from the first event didn’t get learned in that event’s absence. Maybe it’s better just to realize tragedies will happen, but what counts is what we do as a society afterwards, what it teaches us as humans, and how we apply that to our lives. Without our history, we have no future.

8. You have a mirror that shows you a person of your choosing from the past and/or present. That person can be anyone: a president, a king, a queen, a writer etc. You can ask him or her only one question. Who would it be and what would you ask that person?

Does it have to be a question? Because more than anything, I would love to thank my precious grandfather. He passed away before I got serious about my writing. In fact, the night we lost him to brain cancer, I sat down and cried as I wrote a two page tribute to him and his life. The rest of the family was so touched by it, we used it in his eulogy. It was then that I realized how deeply ingrained writing was in me. If I could have one moment with my grandfather now, I’d thank him for being my inspiration on that dark night, because the end of his journey was to be the beginning of mine.

9. Scientists have managed to create a machine that allows you to jump to the future. What year would you like to discover?

February next year, because we’ll all be over the Mayan calendar hullabaloo and can get on with life. ^.^

10. Would you like to add anything else?

My heartfelt gratitude to every reader out there. Authors are at their happiest when their worlds are being visited. So thank you for seeking out our books and reading them! You hold the true magic, because you bring our stories to life.

~~~***~~~***~~~***~~~

Daca vreti sa citit „Splintered” aveti sansa sa castigati un ARC aici:

http://authoraghoward.blogspot.com/2012/10/splintered-secrets-revealed-big-prizes.html


7 thoughts on “Interviu cu o autoare: A.G. Howard

    1. Hi Roselia! Sorry it’s been so long. I just now happened back over and saw your comment. Yes, my twitter handle is @aghowardwrites. Hope to see you on twitter!

Lasă un răspuns

