Review: Sophie & Carter

Sophie & CarterWhile other high school seniors are dreaming about their futures, Sophie and Carter are just trying to make it through each day. Carter is overwhelmed by issues at home as he struggles to support his mother. Meanwhile, next door neighbour Sophie is left to care for her three younger siblings in place of their absent and troubled mother. All that holds these two best friends together is each other, and knowing that each night they’ll sit together on Sophie’s front porch swing and escape from reality, if just for awhile. But as their relationship reaches a turning point and high school graduation nears, will their friendship become something more?

Quotes: “I’m somewhat disgusted at myself for thinking such dramatic, girlie thoughts. But I can’t help myself. He rocks my world.

You know how parents always say things like, “If all your friends jumped off a cliff, would you jump too?”

Well, if Carter jumped off a cliff, I wouldn’t just jump off after him. I’d throw myself over the ledge and dive toward the earth below so I could catch up with him and hold his hand while we plummeted to our deaths.

Yeah.

I’m that much of a sicko.”

Review: I absolutely loved this novella up to the point where I started muttering under my breath all kinds of things I would do to Sophie’s mom and Carter’s dad if I ever met them🙂 Although it’s short, the book is sweet, heartwarming and touching. Gone is the glamorous love that takes place in magical worlds; the love between Sophie and Carter is real and forged in fire. It’s the kind of love that appears when you realize there is no other person in this world that can understand you better than the one in front of you.

Both characters are incredibly strong willed and complex. They suffer at home, but they do not let that affect them. Carter has a mentally unstable mother who was rendered thus by her abusive husband. On the other hand, Sophie must take care of her three little siblings after her mother who is a hooker abandoned them. Both of them had to grow up earlier than normal and it is clear that both of them have problems trusting people who would not understand what they went and are going through.

Although they appear only a little, Sophie’s siblings are incredibly endearing. Chelsea Fine manages to make characters that appear only in a few scenes as important as the protagonists of the series. I have to say that I would have loved to read a full novel about Sophie and Carter, not just a novella, but it was a great read and I recommend it to everyone.

Rating: 5/5

 


Lasă un răspuns

