Interviu cu o autoare: Sara Grant

A venit vremea pentru un nou interviu. De data aceasta cea care mi-a răspuns la întrebări a fost Sara Grant, autoarea romanului Dark Parties ( publicat si sub numele Neva ) care mi-a atras atentia prin descrierea foarte interesanta🙂

Dark Parties~~~***~~~***~~~

Sixteen-year-old Neva has been trapped since birth. She was born and raised under the Protectosphere, in an isolated nation ruled by fear, lies, and xenophobia. A shield „protects” them from the outside world, but also locks the citizens inside. But there’s nothing left on the outside, ever since the world collapsed from violent warfare. Or so the government says… 

Neva and her best friend Sanna believe the government is lying and stage a „dark party” to recruit members for their underground rebellion. But as Neva begins to uncover the truth, she realizes she must question everything she’s ever known, including the people she loves the most.

~~~***~~~***~~~

1. First of all, thank you very much for granting me this interview. I was wondering whether you would like to tell us something about yourself.
Hmmm…what can I tell you… I always wanted to be a writer. I’ve created stories since I was a little girl, imagining epic dramas for my Barbie dolls. I remember writing my first story when I was eight years old. It was hand-written in pencil and bound with three pieces of string. It was titled “A Dream I Wish Was True” and was a complete rip-off of a sketch on The Brady Bunch Variety Hour. And I’ve been writing ever since. I’m an eternal optimist who believes the best in people. I’m a compulsive list maker. I think the most perfect food in the universe is mashed potatoes and I will eat them for any meal. I prefer winter to summer. And, my favourite colour is orange.

I’m originally from a small town in Southern Indiana in the US. I moved to London nine years ago to marry a man I met while standing in line at Universal Studios in Florida. After I moved to the UK, I earned a master’s degree in creative and life writing from Goldsmiths College. Dark Parties is my first young adult novel.

2. Can you tell us what inspired you to write “Dark Parties?”
The idea for Dark Parties came shortly after I moved from Indianapolis, Indiana, to London, England. Debates on immigration were raging on both sides of the Atlantic – and still are. How ‘open’ should a country’s borders be? What does it mean to be American or British? I wanted to explore issues of diversity and national and personal identity so I created a country that had literally closed itself off from the rest of the world.

3. What can you share about your novel?
Sixteen-year-old Neva was born and raised in an isolated nation ruled by fear, lies, and xenophobia. Hundreds of years ago, her country constructed an electrified dome – called the Protectosphere – to protect itself from the outside world. What once might have protected, now imprisons. Her country is decaying and its citizens are dying.

Neva and her friends dream of freedom.

A forbidden party leads to complications. Suddenly Neva’s falling for her best friend’s boyfriend, uncovering secrets that threaten to destroy her friends, her family and her country – and discovering the horrifying truth about what happens to The Missing. . .

4. I believe all readers and perhaps the writers as well imagine what would happen if they were granted a few hours with a character of their choosing. If you were to spend some time with your characters where would you go and what would you do?

I would like to rescue all the characters in Dark Parties and show them the big beautiful world outside the Protectosphere.

5. Do you have a favorite author?
I have many – too many to name, but here are a few….One of the most amazing books ever is Harper Lee’s To Kill A Mocking Bird. I love Jennifer Donnelly’s A Gathering Light and Janne Teller’s Nothing – one of the most shocking and astonishing stories I’ve ever read. I also love the novels by Libba Bray and John Green.

And I would also be remiss if I didn’t mention books from the EDGE. I’m part of a group of UK-writers that create edgy, issue-oriented books for teens. (For more about us and our books, visit: http://edgeauthors.blogspot.com/) 15 Days Without a Head by Dave Cousins, Someone Else’s Life by Katie Dale, Hidden by Miriam Halamhy, The Long Weekend by Savita Kalahn, When I Was Joe by Keren David, Angel’s Fury by Bryony Pearce, The Truth About Celia Frost by Paula Rawsthrone.

6. You have a time capsule and the possibility to preserve three books for the people of the future. What books would you choose?
This is very difficult to pick only three. I guess I’d pick three books that I love – one classic, one comedy and one current. And because I’m a writer of teen fiction, naturally I’d pick books suitable for young adults both now and in the future.

To Kill a Mocking Bird by Harper Lee – to show them we had compassion.
Where the Sidewalk Ends by Shel Silverstein – to make them laugh.
The Fault With Our Stars by John Green – to show them we had heart.

7. A genie appears in front of you one day and promises to take you to a place of your choosing. Where would you go?
I would love to go to a lush but secluded island with no phone, computer or TV. I wouldn’t want to go without my husband and a good book. A day of sunshine, beautiful scenery and no bleeps, buzzes or interruptions of any kind – now that would be paradise.

8. You have a mirror that shows you a person of your choosing from the past and/or present. That person can be anyone: a president, a king, a queen, a writer etc. You can ask him or her only one question. Who would it be and what would you ask that person?

My grandma. She passed away more than a decade ago and, like Neva, I miss my grandma every single day. I would love to spend one more moment with her. I suppose I would ask her the ultimate question – what’s on the ‘other side’.

9. An enchanted lake can give you a glimpse of the past. Which year/period would you like to discover?

I must admit I’m not the biggest history buff. I’m more interested in looking forward than looking back. I suppose I might like to see what my parents and grandparents were like when they were young. I would like to know more about my family heritage – capture more of my family stories.

10. Would you like to add anything else?

Thanks so much for inviting me! My next teen book – Half Lives – will be published in the UK in May 2013. Half Lives chronicles two unlikely heroes, living hundreds of years apart, as they fight to survive. It’s about the nature of faith and the power of miscommunication.
If you’d like to know more about me or my books, you can visit my web site at http://www.sara-grant.com or follow me on Twitter @authorsaragrant.

 


Lasă un răspuns

