Interviu cu o autoare: Jane Nickerson

Astăzi vă prezint un nou interviu, de data aceasta cu autoarea romanului „Strands of Bronze and Gold”, Jane Nickerson🙂

Strands of Bronze and Gold (Strands of Bronze and Gold, #1)

~~~***~~~***~~~

„The Bluebeard fairy tale retold. . . .

When seventeen-year-old Sophia Petheram’s beloved father dies, she receives an unexpected letter. An invitation—on fine ivory paper, in bold black handwriting—from the mysterious Monsieur Bernard de Cressac, her godfather. With no money and fewer options, Sophie accepts, leaving her humble childhood home for the astonishingly lavish Wyndriven Abbey, in the heart of Mississippi.

Sophie has always longed for a comfortable life, and she finds herself both attracted to and shocked by the charm and easy manners of her overgenerous guardian. But as she begins to piece together the mystery of his past, it’s as if, thread by thread, a silken net is tightening around her. And as she gathers stories and catches whispers of his former wives—all with hair as red as her own—in the forgotten corners of the abbey, Sophie knows she’s trapped in the passion and danger of de Cressac’s intoxicating world.

Glowing strands of romance, mystery, and suspense are woven into this breathtaking debut—a thrilling retelling of the “Bluebeard” fairy tale.”

~~~**~~~***~~~

1. First of all, thank you very much for granting me this interview. I was wondering whether you would like to tell us something about yourself.

Thank you for wanting to interview me!

I was born into a book-loving family. Every one of us always had a story we were immersed in. We used to gather around my mother’s bed, turn out the lights, and she would tell us original fairy tales that she conjured up. From the time I could write stories, I wrote them. Gradually my tastes leaned towards fantasy, science fiction, romance, paranormal, mysteries, and historical. After I was married, we moved to a big old house in a small town in Mississippi, United States. I had five children, taught pre-school, and was the children’s librarian at our little library. I was so busy with all that, that I didn’t write much. One year, I wrote a couple middle grade novels and submitted them for publication, but they were rejected so I stopped trying. I wrote a column for the town newspaper and I would sell stories to magazines now and then, but that was all. Then, we moved to Canada and I couldn’t find a regular job, so I decided to write full time and really, really try to get published. STRANDS OF BRONZE AND GOLD is the result. And I can’t tell you how ecstatic I was, when Knopf/Random House Publishers bought it.

2. Can you tell us what inspired you to write “STRANDS OF BRONZE AND GOLD”

When I was about eight years old, I read the story of “Bluebeard” in a fairy tale book. I was fascinated and creeped-out by it. I couldn’t imagine why it was considered a fairy tale, but I liked it.

3. What can you share about your novel? 

I have always liked Gothic mystery/romances, such as JANE EYRE and REBECCA. It was only when I began to write STRANDS that I realized that essentially “Bluebeard” is a Gothic. So STRANDS features all the elements of a Gothic novel, such as an innocent young girl who travels to a fabulous mansion where she uncovers secrets and experiences danger, a mysterious master of the house, a romance, and murder. It also takes place in the Old South, so African American servants and the historic Underground Railroad, which led many slaves to freedom, are also featured.

4. I believe all readers and perhaps the writers as well imagine what would happen if they were granted a few hours with a character of their choosing. If you were to spend some time with your characters where would you go and what would you do? 

Oh, I would absolutely ask them to give me a tour of Wyndriven Abbey and its grounds. I adore old, interesting buildings with lots of history. And I would ask if I could go through all the trunks in the attic, eat in the banquet hall, and spend one night sleeping in one of the fantastic beds.

5. Do you have a favorite author?

I have lots, and they cover several different genres—J.R.R. Tolkien, L.M. Montgomery, Ursula K. LeGuin, Neil Gaimon, Andre Norton, Jane Austen, Louisa May Alcott, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Garth Nix, Shannon Hale…I could go on and on.

6. You have a time capsule and the possibility to preserve three books for the people of the future. What books would you choose?

Oh, no! Only three? Okay—THE HOBBIT, PRIDE AND PREJUDICE, A WIZARD OF EARTHSEA. But I might change my mind a dozen times and continue to replace the ones in the time capsule as long as I could.

7. A genie appears in front of you one day and promises to take you to a place of your choosing. Where would you go?

Once again, I can’t choose only one, so I’ll choose two. I would like to visit pre-Civil War Mississippi so that I could know what it was really like. We can read things about it, but no one can know how people actually talked and acted and how everything really looked. For my second choice, since I’m a Christian, I would choose to hang out with Jesus for the Sermon on the Mount.

8. You have a mirror that shows you a person of your choosing from the past and/or present. That person can be anyone: a president, a king, a queen, a writer etc. You can ask him or her only one question. Who would it be and what would you ask that person?

Again, I’m a Christian, so I would choose Jesus and I would ask him what I needed to do better. (Sorry, I know you don’t want a sermon, but that’s my honest answer.)

9. An enchanted lake can give you a glimpse of the past. Which year/period would you like to discover?

The nineteenth century is absolutely the time period that I have always felt a bit homesick for, so that would be my choice. I love the clothes, I love the buildings and furnishings, and, to a certain extent, I love the manners and morals.

10. Would you like to add anything else?

STRANDS OF BRONZE AND GOLD is not an adventure story. It’s an atmospheric, psychological thriller, full of beautiful words and interesting characters. Since it takes place in 1855, I and the editors worked very hard to make it historically accurate, even cutting out words that were not in use at that time. I hope y’all enjoy it!


6 thoughts on “Interviu cu o autoare: Jane Nickerson

  1. Coperta cartii e bestiala, si imi place si descrierea🙂 Mama ce intrabri super tari! :)) Eu nu m-as fi gandit niciodata la acestea❤ Imi plac raspunsurile autoarei ;;)

Lasă un răspuns

