Interviu cu o autoare: Carly Anne West

Revin cu un nou interviu🙂. De data aceasta, Carly Anne West ne-a prezentat romanul ei, „The Murmurings” si a raspuns la cateva intrebari.

~~~***~~~***~~~

The MurmuringsEveryone thinks Sophie’s sister, Nell, went crazy. After all, she heard strange voices that drove her to commit suicide. But Sophie doesn’t believe that Nell would take her own life, and she’s convinced that Nell’s doctor knows more than he’s letting on.

As Sophie starts to piece together Nell’s last days, every lead ends in a web of lies. And the deeper Sophie digs, the more danger she’s in—because now she’s hearing the same haunting whispers. Sophie’s starting to think she’s going crazy too. Or worse, that maybe she’s not….

~~~***~~~****~~~

1. First of all, thank you very much for granting me this interview. I was wondering whether you would like to tell us something about yourself.
Thank you for interviewing me! Hmmmm … let’s see. Something about myself. Well, I grew up in a very, very hot climate. People used to joke that they could fry eggs on the sidewalk at the height of summer in Phoenix. But it wasn’t a joke; that was really possible. Once, I left a plastic mechanical pencil on the dashboard of my car for the day. When I returned, the pencil had melted and curled into a little circle. 
2. Can you tell us what inspired you to write “The Murmurings 
For a while, I’d been interested in writing a story that dealt with the fear associated with questioning one’s own sanity, and what might be more frightening: knowing that you can’t trust what your senses are telling you or knowing that what your senses are telling you is actually true. Then, when I was living in this old apartment in California, I actually heard my own version of murmurings! I was unpacking a box near this closet in the living room, and I heard a murmuring in my ear. The next morning, my husband heard the same thing in the same place in the apartment (I hadn’t told him about my experience). We exchanged stories and found that we had experienced the same phenomenon exactly. We also have two cats who would not go into the closet in the living room where we heard the sound murmuring in our ears. A couple of times, we watched them start to go into the closet, then slowly back away after seeing something in the upper corner of the closet, and then they’d dart around the corner and hide for the rest of the afternoon. We lived there for three years, and occasionally, we’d experience other strange sensations, like waking up in the middle of the night for no particular reason, and knowing for certain that someone else was in the room. It was frightening when it happened, but it happened so sporadically, we continued to live there until we moved into our first house. Upon leaving the apartment, though, we asked the landlord, in a very roundabout way, if anyone else had ever experienced anything strange in the apartment. She said yes, then went on to describe others hearing a voice in that same part of the apartment where we’d heard it! Spooky.
3. What can you share about your novel?
THE MURMURINGS is a paranormal, psychological thriller/horror, but with elements of both mystery and contemporary YA that explore aspects of grief, love and the decisions that affect us in big ways. 
4. I believe all readers and perhaps the writers as well imagine what would happen if they were granted a few hours with a character of their choosing. If you were to spend some time with your characters where would you go and what would you do?
Oooh, great question! I feel like I’ve spent a great deal of time with the characters in this novel. We’ve gotten to know each other very well over the years. But if I could actually sit down with a couple of them, I think I’d really want to spend time with Sophie and Nell together. For the entirety of the novel, they are separated by death and grief, and we only see glimpses of their lives together in their shared memories. I would love to spend time with them while they were growing up together, to reassure them that whatever they were about to face in the future, however difficult their challenges will be, they have a love that will bind them together in a way that will make them both stronger. 
5. Do you have a favorite author?
I have too many favorite authors! I don’t know if I could possibly list them all. I do have a few stand-by authors whose work I will always read, and if they’ve passed, I’ll always reread the works they wrote when they were living: Bernard Malamud is one of my very favorites. I also adore Lorrie Moore and Mary Karr. Oh, and Edgar Allan Poe. And Stephen King! And so many others!
6. You have a time capsule and the possibility to preserve three books for the people of the future. What books would you choose?
AHHH! Such an impossible question! I don’t know how to narrow it down to three! Well, I will offer you three, but please know that this is by no means my definitive list! CRIME AND PUNISHMENT by Fyodor Dostoevsky, THE STORIES OF BERNARD MALAMUD, and THE WORKS OF EDGAR ALLAN POE. Notice how I sort of cheated here and used two books that are actually story collections?🙂
7. A genie appears in front of you one day and promises to take you to a place of your choosing. Where would you go?
Oh wow! I love your questions. I’d kindly ask that genie to take me to London. I was there in January this year and couldn’t get enough. It was snowing and miserably cold, and I loved every minute of it. It felt like I’d literally walked onto the pages of some of my very favorite classic novels. Looking around Trafalgar Square, I got so excited I thought my heart was going to stop!
8. You have a mirror that shows you a person of your choosing from the past and/or present. That person can be anyone: a president, a king, a queen, a writer etc. You can ask him or her only one question. Who would it be and what would you ask that person?
Well, mirrors freak me out a little, particularly mirrors that show me anything other than my own reflection (as you’ll find in THE MURMURINGS), but if this mirror were harmless, then I’d ask it to show me Edgar Allan Poe, and I’d like to ask him where his mind traveled to right before he would drift off to sleep.
9. An enchanted lake can give you a glimpse of the past. Which year/period would you like to discover?
I’ve always been fascinated by Henry VIII’s reign in England. Such a volatile and formative portion of our world’s history!
10. Would you like to add anything else?
I’d just like to thank you so much for interviewing me! It was such a pleasure chatting with you.

3 thoughts on “Interviu cu o autoare: Carly Anne West

Lasă un răspuns

